FAQ

The following information is valid for the current funding call. FAQs are updated with every new call as needed.  

Information Sessions

With each call for applications, we organize two digital Information Sessions (one in German, one in English) each lasting approx. 60 to 90 minutes. The purpose of the Information Sessions is to present the Media Forward Fund and its selection process in more detail. Questions can be submitted in advance when registering or asked live during the event. Registrations are open now.

July 30, 2024: 12:30-2:00 p.m. (in German)          Register now

August 27, 2024: 12:30-2:00 p.m. (in English)      Register now

Funding

What is the maximum funding amount?

Organizational funding: The maximum funding amount is €400,000 over a period of up to two years, although higher funding amounts are possible. Small media organizations with up to 30 full-time employees (FTEs) in the overall organization can apply for organizational funding. 

Project funding: The maximum funding amount is €200,000 over a project duration of up to two years, although higher funding amounts are possible. Both small and large media organizations can apply for project funding. For large media organizations, the Media Forward Fund co-finances projects on a 50:50 basis. For example, if your project, as a large media organization, costs a total of €400,000, the Media Forward Fund would provide €200,000 in financing. 

What is the maximum funding period?

The maximum funding period for organizational and project funding is 24 months.

How do we determine whether we are a small or a large media organization?

The classification as to whether you are a small or large media organization is based on the information you provide in the brief introduction. The determining criterion is the current number of full-time employees in the overall organization (FTEs). Organizations with 30 or fewer FTEs are considered small.

Small media organizations can apply for both project and organizational funding. Large media organizations, on the other hand, can only apply for project funding.

What is the difference between overall organization and sub-unit?

The term overall organization refers to the superordinate organization (e.g. corporation, project owner, subsidiary organization) within which the applying sub-unit (e.g. newsroom, news portal) is organized. 

This distinction will mainly apply to large media organizations. In the case of smaller media organizations, we expect that the overall organization and the applying sub-unit will often be identical entities. 

We are a subsidiary of a foreign organization and are not yet active in Germany, Austria or Switzerland, but we are now expanding our media offerings to the region for the first time. Does the Media Forward Fund provide funding for testing new markets?

No. The Media Forward Fund only awards grants for organizations or projects that already have a proof of concept in Germany, Austria or Switzerland. This is to ensure that there are target audiences and markets for the media offer not only in the country of origin, but also in Germany, Austria or Switzerland. With this restriction, we aim to promote equal opportunities between local media outlets and media organizations that intend to expand from international markets into Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

What is the difference between organizational and project funding?

In the case of project funding, we support an isolated project. Only the expenses directly related to the project are funded. 

In the case of organizational funding (core funding), we fund an undefined share of expenditures. The organization is free to decide how to use the funding. This means that the funding can be used for any and all of an organization’s activities.

Which costs are eligible for organizational funding?

You can find an overview of the eligible costs for organizational funding under "Overview eligible costs" in Apply.

Which costs are eligible for project funding?

You can find an overview of the eligible costs for project funding under "Overview eligible costs" in Apply.

Do we have to contribute proprietary resources?

In the case of large media organizations, the Media Forward Fund co-finance projects on a 50:50 basis, which means that proprietary resources are required.

How many funding rounds does the Media Forward Fund run per year?

The Media Forward Fund plans to run three funding rounds per year. 

We have previously been turned down for a grant from the Media Forward Fund. May we apply again?

Yes, you can reapply during a subsequent funding round.

Eligibility

What are the key eligibility criteria to receive funding from the Media Forward Fund?
  • Your overall organization (e.g. corporation, project owner) – or you as a subsidiary of a foreign organization – must be based either in Germany, Austria or Switzerland. 
  • You must have a business plan and proof of concept for a viable business model in the Germany, Austria or Switzerland, or have already successfully established it.
  • Your work is based on recognized journalistic standards, which you document publicly (or plan to do so). You are committed to the principles of the German Press Code (Pressekodex).
  • You have a distinct structural and personnel division between the newsroom and organization management. 
  • Your work serves the common good. 
Are there differences in the key eligibility criteria between large and small media organizations?

The eligibility of media organizations with more than 30 full-time employees (FTEs) in the overall organization is also subject to the following additional criteria: 

1. Average share of daily content published by overall organization made up by proprietary content (excluding copy from news agencies and mainly AI-generated content, for example) is over 70 percent.

2. Share of total digital revenue of the overall organization made up by regularly recurring payments from users (excluding e-paper in case of print publishers) is over 30 percent.

What does the Media Forward Fund not fund?
  • Public service media outlets 
  • Interest groups
  • Conferences and networking events
  • Studies, accompanying research, or individual research projects
  • Scholarships
  • Sole proprietorship or projects by individuals who are not part of an organization 
  • Organizations or projects that are still in the idea phase
  • Organizations or projects that merely provide an additional offer similar to many existing ones. Their work thus does not address any structural or content-related needs that only they would fill (Additionality)
  • Supplementary funding for an ongoing project
Our organization is not non-profit. Can we still apply?

To be eligible, the work of for-profit organizations must serve the common good. This means that revenues of the media organizations are primarily generated with the intention of strengthening journalism in general.

Can we apply even though we have not yet officially founded and registered our organization or tested our idea?

No. The fund is only open to organizations and projects after the idea phase. As soon as you have a certain degree of organizational structure, a business plan and initial proof of product/market fit, your organization may apply.

Can I apply as a solo proprietor?

No. Sole proprietorship or projects by individuals who are not part of an organization are not eligible. 

Application Process

In which languages can we apply?

We accept applications in German or English. However, the language in which you publish your journalistic work does not play a role in the application process.

In which currency must financial information be provided?

Information can be provided in both euros and Swiss francs. Only the total amount of funding requested should be stated in euros at the respective positions.

What does the selection process look like?

The selection process is divided into five steps: 1) Brief introduction 2) Initial interview 3) Application drafting 4) Due diligence & pitch deck design 5) Pitch to the jury. 

What are the selection criteria?

The selection process focuses on three areas: your journalistic work, your organization and your idea for using the grant. The assessment is based on our five overarching criteria.

What is the deadline for submitting the brief introduction?

The brief introduction can be submitted any time before September 6, 2024. The earlier you submit the brief introduction form, the sooner we can conduct an initial interview and determine whether you are eligible to submit a full application.

How do we prepare for the initial interview?

The initial interview of approx. 30 minutes is intended to provide us an initial personal impression of you and a more detailed idea of your work and your idea for using the grant. No additional preparation is required for the interview. You are welcome, however, to take a look at the guiding questions for the interview.

Preview initial interview questions

How should we submit our funding application?

Once your eligibility for funding has been established by the information provided in the brief introduction and during the initial interview, you are permitted to submit your funding application via a form in our funding portal within a maximum of five weeks. You will receive the registration link from us by e-mail, which you can then use to register and access the relevant application form. The upload function for the required attachments can also be found at the end of the form.   

How much time do we have to draft the funding application?

The maximum time for drafting the funding application is limited to five weeks. 

The sooner you submit the brief introduction form, the sooner we can assess your eligibility for funding, conduct the initial interview to determine a fit and allow you to draft your application. We conduct initial interviews until September 13, 2024, so if you are late, you will have at least three weeks until October 4, 2024, to draft and submit your funding application. 

What should be the scope of our funding application?

For some of the questions, your answers are automatically taken from the brief introduction and can be revised or expanded if necessary. We have set guidelines for the number of characters per response. However, there is no default character limit so that you do not need to shorten sentences. Nevertheless, we recommend sticking to the suggested character maximum as orientation. Designated questions can also be answered in bullet points.

Preview application form project funding 

Preview application form organizational funding

What is the deadline for submitting our funding application?

As soon as you have received the registration link to our funding portal by email, you can start drafting your funding application using the form. We will accept funding applications via the funding portal until October 4, 2024.

We have sent in our application but have not heard back yet.

You will hear from us at the latest by the week of October 21, 2024.

We do not yet have our audited accounts for the most recent fiscal year. Can we still apply?

Yes, in this case please attach your preliminary annual financial records or other meaningful financial data (e.g. internal financial report).  

We need to update information provided because we have made a mistake. What should we do?

Please use the link we sent you at the beginning to access the funding portal and update the information accordingly. If you would like to update the information after submission, please contact us at: foerderungen@mediaforwardfund.org.

What should we expect during the due diligence process?

The assessment is based on the information you have provided, desk research, internal documents you have submitted (attachments to the funding application) and one or two reference interviews, which we will conduct following the review of your application. In your funding application, you are asked to provide two references who will be willing to provide detailed and candid feedback on your work and your organization.

Should we determine that the internal documents submitted with your funding application are insufficient, we will request additional information in a timely manner.

What are the expectations for the pitch deck?

The pitch deck, completed in PowerPoint format with approx. 10 – 15 slides, should reflect the most important information from your funding application. We suggest an overarching structure with three parts: 1) Where we come from and what drives us, 2) Where we currently stand, and 3) Where we want to go. Further details and recommendations regarding the structure and formalities will be sent to organizations admitted to the pitch by e-mail.

What will the pitch look like? How can we prepare?

The jury pitch will take place in person in Berlin. Travel expenses will be covered. Each organization is given 45 minutes, which are allocated as follows:

  • approx. 20 minutes pitch presentation
  • approx. 15 minutes Q&A
  • approx. 10 minutes jury deliberation 

During the drafting period of your pitch deck, we will conduct at least one feedback session with you, where questions can be raised and tips will be provided. 

Who sits on the jury?

The jury consists of five experts. Information on the composition of the jury will be published in a timely manner.

When will we learn about the jury's decision?

We will try to inform you about the jury's decision as soon as possible during the first week of December, 2024.

Our application was rejected. Can we get feedback?

Yes, we generally offer feedback to rejected organizations. You should have received further information in the rejection e-mail.  

Working together

We were approved for funding. What are the next steps?

Shortly after you have been approved, we will send you the draft funding agreement and schedule a kick-off call with you as soon as possible. Once the funding agreement has been agreed and signed, the first funding tranche of 60 percent of the total funding amount will be transferred.

During the kick-off call, we will discuss your milestones and adopt them for the first six months of funding. We will also develop a shared vision for cooperation, discuss challenges and needs and agree on deadlines.

What is in the funding agreement?

The funding agreement defines, among other things, funding provisions, the funding amount and tranches in which it will be paid out, reporting requirements pertaining to the use of funding, public relations and attributions.

What are the expectations regarding the scope and frequency of reporting on the use of funding?

We expect a short written interim report (approx. 2-3 pages) once half of the funding period has elapsed and a written final report (approx. 3-5 pages) after the funding period has come to an end. Interim and final reports on the use of the funding along with the corresponding lists of receipts must also be submitted together with the reports.

At least five check-in meetings are planned for the entire funding period:

  • Kick-off call
  • Check-in no. 1 after approx. 6 months
  • Half-time meeting & interim report (check-in no. 2) after approx. 12 months
  • Check-in no. 3 after approx. 18 months
  • Final meeting & report (check-in no. 4) after approx. 24 months

The main purpose of the check-in meetings is to discuss the implementation and status of the agreed milestones, the lessons thus far learned, and the definition and adjustment of the milestones for the ensuing six months – and also the financial reporting based on the original planning.

Our question is not listed here. What should we do?

Please send an e-mail with your question to funding@mediaforwardfund.org

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Die nachstehenden Angaben gelten für die aktuelle Ausschreibung. Die FAQs werden bei Bedarf mit jeder Ausschreibung aktualisiert.  

Info-Events

Mit jeder Ausschreibung veranstalten wir zwei online Info-Events (1x auf Deutsch, 1x auf Englisch) im Umfang von ca. 60-90 Minuten, um euch den Media Forward Fund und den Auswahlprozess vorzustellen. Fragen können vorab mit der Anmeldung eingereicht oder live beim Event gestellt werden. Anmeldungen sind ab sofort möglich.

30. Juli 2024: 12:30-14:00 Uhr (auf Deutsch)           Jetzt anmelden

27. August 2024: 12:30-14:00 Uhr (auf Englisch)    Jetzt anmelden

Förderung

Was ist die maximale Fördersumme?

Organisationsförderung: Die maximale Fördersumme beträgt 400.000,- € über die gesamte Laufzeit von bis zu zwei Jahren, wobei höhere Fördersummen möglich sind. Für Organisationsförderung können sich kleine Medien mit bis zu 30 angestellten Vollzeitäquivalenten in der Gesamtorganisation bewerben.

Projektförderung: Die maximale Fördersumme für Projektförderung beträgt 200.000,- € über die gesamte Projektlaufzeit von bis zu zwei Jahren, wobei höhere Fördersummen möglich sind. Sowohl kleine als auch große Medien können sich für die Projektförderung bewerben. Bei größeren Medien co-finanzieren wir die Projekte im Verhältnis 50:50.  Wenn euer Projekt als großes Medium also beispielsweise insgesamt 400.000,- € kostet, finanziert der Media Forward Fund die Hälfte, sprich 200.000,- €. 

Was ist die maximale Förderdauer?

Die maximale Förderdauer für Organisations- und Projektförderungen beträgt 24 Monate.

Woher wissen wir, ob wir ein kleines Medium oder ein großes Medienhaus sind?

Die Einordnung der Organisationsgröße erfolgt auf Grundlage der Angaben in der Kurzintro. Ausschlaggebend ist die aktuelle Anzahl hauptamtlicher / angestellter Mitarbeitender in eurer Gesamtorganisation (Vollzeitäquivalente). Kleine Medien haben bis zu 30 Vollzeitäquivalente. 

Kleine Medien können sowohl Projekt- als auch für die Organisationsförderung beantragen. Große Medienunternehmen hingegen ausschließlich Projektförderung.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Gesamtorganisation und Subeinheit?

Mit Gesamtorganisation meinen wir die übergeordnete Organisation (z.B. Konzern, Träger, Tochterorganisation), in der die antragsstellende Subeinheit (z.B. Redaktion, Nachrichtenportal) organisiert ist. 

Diese Differenzierung wird vor allem für große Medienhäuser zutreffen. Bei kleineren Medien hingegen werden Gesamtorganisation und antragsstellende Subeinheit oftmals identisch sein. 

Wir sind eine Tochterorganisation einer ausländischen Organisation, haben noch kein Angebot in Deutschland, Österreich oder Schweiz und wollen nun unser Medienangebot erstmals in die DACH-Region bringen. Fördert der Fund die Erprobung eines neuen Marktes?

Nein. Der Fund vergibt nur Förderungen für Organisationen oder Projekte, die bereits einen Proof of Concept in einem der drei DACH-Länder vorweisen können, um sicherzustellen, dass es für das Medienangebot nicht nur im Herkunftsland, sondern auch in Deutschland, Österreich oder Schweiz Zielgruppen und Markt gibt. Außerdem erhöht dies die Chancengleichheit zwischen regional entwickelten Angeboten und Angeboten, die aus internationalen Märkten in den DACH-Raum expandieren wollen.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Projekt- und Organisationsförderung?

Bei der Projektförderung fördern wir ein einzelnes abgegrenztes Vorhaben (Projekt). Gefördert werden dabei nur die direkt mit dem Projekt zusammenhängenden Ausgaben. 

Bei der Organisationsförderung (core funding) fördern wir einen nicht abgegrenzten Teil der Ausgaben. Die Organisation kann frei über den Einsatz der Förderung entscheiden. Gefördert wird also die Organisation als Ganzes, ihre gesamte Tätigkeit. 

Welche Kosten sind im Rahmen der Organisationsförderung förderfähig?

Eine Übersicht zu den förderfähigen Kosten bei Organisationsförderung findet ihr in der "Übersicht förderfähige Kosten" unter Bewerben.

Welche Kosten sind im Rahmen der Projektförderung förderfähig?

Eine Übersicht zu den förderfähigen Kosten bei Projektförderung findet ihr in der "Übersicht förderfähige Kosten" unter Bewerben.

Müssen Eigenmittel eingebracht werden?

Im Rahmen der Projektförderung co-finanziert der Media Forward Fund bei großen Medien Projekte im Verhältnis 50:50. Die Förderung setzt bei großen Medien also den Einsatz von Eigenmitteln voraus.

Wie oft schreibt der Media Forward Fund im Jahr aus?

Der Media Forward Fund wird voraussichtlich dreimal im Jahr ausgeschrieben.

Wir wurden schon einmal beim Media Forward Fund abgelehnt. Können wir uns nochmal bewerben?

Ja, eine erneute Bewerbung ist im Ausschreibungszeitraum möglich.

Förderfähigkeit

Was sind die Grundanforderungen an uns, um förderwürdig im Sinne des Media Forward Funds zu sein?
  • Eure übergeordnete Organisation (z.B. Konzern, Träger) – oder ihr als Tochterorganisation einer ausländischen Organisation – habt euren Sitz entweder in Deutschland, Österreich oder der Schweiz. 
  • Ihr verfügt über einen Businessplan und habt den Proof of concept für ein funktionierendes Geschäftsmodell für eines der DACH-Länder erbracht oder dieses bereits fest etabliert. 
  • Ihr arbeitet auf der Grundlage anerkannter journalistisch-redaktioneller Standards, die ihr öffentlich dokumentiert (oder plant dies zu tun) und verpflichtet euch den Grundsätzen des Pressekodex. 
  • Bei euch herrscht eine klare strukturelle und personelle Trennung zwischen redaktionell-inhaltlicher und kommerzieller Leitung.
  • Ihr seid gemeinwohlorientiert.
Gibt es Unterschiede bei den Grundanforderungen an die Förderwürdigkeit zwischen großen und kleinen Medienorganisationen?

Die Förderwürdigkeit von Medienorganisationen mit mehr als 30 Vollzeitäquivalenten wird zudem von den folgenden zusätzlichen Kriterien bedingt: 

  • Der durchschnittliche Anteil eigener Werke pro Tag an all den Werken der Gesamtorganisation (ohne Agenturmeldungen und ohne überwiegend KI-generierte Inhalte) muss bei über 70 % liegen.
  • Der Anteil der regelmäßig wiederkehrenden Zahlungen von Nutzenden am gesamten digitalen Erlös der Gesamtorganisation (ohne E-Paper bei Printverlagen) muss bei über 30 % liegen.
Was fördert der Media Forward Fund nicht?
  • öffentlich-rechtliche Medien 
  • Interessensverbände
  • Kongress- und Netzwerkanlässe
  • Studien, Begleitforschung oder einzelne Recherchevorhaben 
  • Stipendien
  • Einzelunternehmen oder Vorhaben von Einzelpersonen, die nicht Teil einer Organisation
  • Vorhaben, die sich noch in der Ideenphase befinden
  • Organisationen oder Projekte, die nur ein weiteres, gleiches Angebot neben vielen anderen bereitstellen und damit keine strukturelle oder inhaltliche Lücke schließen, die außer ihnen sonst niemand adressieren würde (Zusätzlichkeit)
  • Nachfinanzierung eines bereits laufenden Projekts
Können wir uns als nicht gemeinnützige Organisation bewerben?

Antragsstellende Organisationen, die nicht gemeinnützig sind, müssen gemeinwohlorientiert arbeiten. Das bedeutet, dass die Gewinne des Mediums mit der Absicht erwirtschaftet werden, der Stärkung des Journalismus zu dienen. 

Können wir uns bewerben, obwohl wir unsere Organisation noch nicht gegründet oder unser Vorhaben noch nicht getestet haben?

Nein. Der Fund steht für Projekte nach der Ideenphase offen.  Sobald ein gewisser Organisationsgrad, ein Businessplan und erste Belege des Product/Market-Fits vorhanden sind, steht euch der Fund offen.

Kann ich mich als Einzelunternehmer*in bewerben?

Nein. Wir können leider weder Einzelunternehmen noch Vorhaben von Einzelpersonen fördern, die nicht Teil einer Organisation. 

Auswahlprozess

In welchen Sprachen können wir uns bewerben?

Bewerbungen nehmen wir auf Deutsch oder Englisch entgegen. Die Sprache, in der ihr publiziert, spielt allerdings keine Rolle für die Bewerbung.

In welcher Währung sollen finanzielle Angaben gemacht werden?

Angaben können sowohl in Euro als auch Schweizer Franken gemacht werden. Lediglich die Angabe zur Gesamthöhe der beantragten Förderung sollte an den ausgewiesenen Stellen in Euro vorgenommen werden.

Wie sieht der Auswahlprozess aus?

Der Auswahlprozess gliedert sich in fünf Stufen: 1) Kurzintro, 2) Erstgespräch, 3) Erstellung Förderantrag, 4) Due Diligence & Erstellung Pitchdeck, 5) Pitch vor der Jury. 

Was sind die Auswahlkriterien?

Im Auswahlprozess stehen drei Bereiche im Vordergrund: eure journalistische Arbeit, eure Organisation und das vorgeschlagene Vorhaben. Ausschlaggebend für die Beurteilung sind hierbei unsere fünf übergeordneten Auswahlkriterien.

Bis wann müssen wir unsere Kurzintro ausfüllen?

Die Möglichkeit zum Ausfüllen der Kurzintro ist bis 6. September 2024 offen. Je früher ihr das Kurzintro-Formular ausfüllt, desto eher können wir bei Eignung ein Erstgespräch führen und entscheiden, ob ihr für eine Antragsstellung in Frage kommt. 

Wie bereiten wir uns für das Erstgespräch vor?

Im Erstgespräch von ca. 30 Minuten möchten wir uns einen ersten persönlichen und näheren Eindruck von euch, eurer Arbeit und eurem Vorhaben machen. Für das Gespräch sollte kein zusätzlicher Vorbereitungsaufwand anfallen. Möchtet ihr euch dennoch intensiver vorbereiten, könnt die Leitfragen für das Gespräch einsehen. 

Vorschau Fragen Erstgespräch 

Wie können wir unseren Förderantrag einreichen?

Wenn sich eure Förderfähigkeit durch eure Angaben in der Kurzintro und im Erstgespräch bestätigt hat, seid ihr zugelassen, euren Förderantrag über ein Formular in unserem Förderportal einzureichen. Hierzu erhaltet ihr von uns einen Anmeldelink per E-Mail, über den ihr euch anmelden und auf das Formular zugreifen könnt. Am Ende des Formulars findet ihr ebenfalls die Upload-Funktion für die notwendigen Anlagen.

Wie viel Zeit haben wir für die Erarbeitung des Förderantrags?

Die maximale Zeit für die Erarbeitung des Förderantrags ist auf 5 Wochen begrenzt. 

Je früher ihr das Kurzintro-Formular ausfüllt, desto eher können wir eure Förderfähigkeit feststellen, ein Erstgespräch führen und euch zur Antragstellung einladen. Erstgespräche führen wir bis 13. September 2024 durch. Falls ihr also spät dran seid, bleiben euch mindestens drei Wochen bis zum 4. Oktober 2024, um euren Förderantrag zu erarbeiten und einzureichen. 

Welchen Umfang sollte unser Förderantrag haben?

Ihr reicht euren Förderantrag und die notwendigen Anlagen über ein Formular in unserem Förderportal ein. Neben einem Feld zu euren allgemeinen Angaben sind insgesamt 16-17 Fragen zu beantworten, wobei in manchen Fällen eure Antworten aus der Kurzintro automatisch übernommen werden. Je Frage haben wir Richtwerte für die Zeichenanzahl hinterlegt. Allerdings wird es keine automatische Zeichenbegrenzung geben, damit ihr euch nicht mit dem Kürzen von Sätzen abmühen müsst. Dennoch empfehlen wir euch, euch an den Richtwerten zu orientieren. Ausgewiesene Fragen können zudem stichpunktartig beantwortet werden. 

Vorschau Förderantrag Projektförderung

Vorschau Förderantrag Organisationsförderung

Bis wann müssen wir unseren Förderantrag einreichen?

Sobald ihr den Anmeldelink per E-Mail zu unserem Förderportal erhalten habt, könnt ihr mit der Erarbeitung eures Förderantrags über das Formular beginnen. Förderanträge nehmen wir über das Förderportal bis zum 4. Oktober 2024 an.

Wir haben unseren Antrag bereits eingereicht, aber seither nicht wieder zurückgehört.

Ihr jedem Fall erhaltet ihr von uns eine Rückmeldung bis zur KW 43 2024.

Unser für das Vorhaben relevanter Jahresabschluss des letzten Geschäftsjahres liegt uns noch nicht vor. Können wir uns trotzdem bewerben?

Ja. Fügt in diesem Fall bitte euren vorläufigen Jahresabschluss bei oder andere aussagekräftige Finanzdaten (z.B. interner Finanzbericht).

Wir müssen unsere Angaben aktualisieren, weil uns ein Fehler unterlaufen ist. Was sollen wir tun?

Nutzt hierfür bitte den Link, den wir euch eingangs für den Zugriff auf das Förderportal geschickt haben und aktualisiert die Angabe entsprechend. Solltet ihr die Aktualisierung nach der Einreichung vornehmen wollen, dann meldet euch bitte unter: funding@mediaforwardfund.org

Was wird von uns bei der Due-Diligence-Prüfung erwartet?

Die Due-Diligence-Prüfung basiert auf euren Angaben, Desktoprecherchen, euren eingereichten internen Dokumenten (Anlagen zum Förderantrag) und ein bis zwei Referenzgesprächen, die wir im Anschluss an die Beurteilung eures Antrags durchführen. Wir bitten euch deshalb im Förderantrag, uns zwei Referenzkontakte zu nennen, die eine aussagekräftige Beurteilung zu eurer Arbeit und eurer Organisation geben können. Zu gegebener Zeit werden wir euch bitten, uns mit den Referenzkontakten zu vernetzten, damit wir mit ihnen in die Terminabstimmung gehen können. 

Sollten wir feststellen, dass die mit eurem Förderantrag eingereichten internen Dokumente nicht aufschlussreich genug sind, werden wir euch zeitnah um weitere Informationen bitten.

Was muss das Pitchdeck beinhalten?

Das Pitchdeck in PowerPoint-Format mit einem Umfang von ca. 10-15 Slides sollte die wichtigsten Informationen aus eurem Förderantrag widerspiegeln. Wir schlagen euch hierfür eine übergeordnete dreiteilige Gliederung vor: 1) Wo wir herkommen und was uns antreibt, 2) Wo wir aktuell stehen und 3) Wo wir uns hin entwickeln wollen. Weitere Details und Empfehlungen hinsichtlich der Struktur und Formalia erhalten die zum Pitch zugelassenen Organisationen per E-Mail in einer How-to-Beschreibung.

 

Wie läuft der Pitch vor der Jury ab? Wie können wir uns vorbereiten?

Der Pitch vor der Jury findet vor Ort in Berlin persönlich statt. Eure Reisekosten werden von uns übernommen. Pro Organisation sind 45 Minuten vorgesehen, die wie folgt eingeteilt sind:

  • ca. 20 Minuten Pitchvortrag
  • ca. 15 Minuten Q&A
  • ca. 10 Minuten Beratungszeit der Jury 

Im Rahmen der Erarbeitungszeit eures Pitchdecks haben wir mindestens einen Feedbacktermin mit euch vorgesehen, bei dem wir euch Tipps zur Vorbereitung geben und ihr eure Fragen stellen könnt.

Wer sitzt in der Jury?

Die Jury setzt sich aus fünf Fachexpert*innen zusammen. Informationen zur Zusammensetzung der Fachjury werden veröffentlicht.

Wann erfahren wir nach dem Pitch über die Entscheidung der Jury?

Wir werden versuchen, euch schnellstmöglich über die Entscheidung der Jury in der KW 49 2024 zu informieren.

Wir haben eine Absage erhalten. Können wir Feedback bekommen?

Ja, wir bieten abgelehnten Organisationen grundsätzlich Feedback an. Weitere Informationen solltet ihr in der Nachricht mit unserer Absage erhalten haben.  

Zusammenarbeit

Wir haben einen Förderzusage erhalten. Was sind die nächsten Schritte?

Kurz nachdem ihr eine Förderzusage erhalten habt, werden wir euch den Fördervertragsentwurf zukommen lassen und mit euch einen zeitnahen Kick-off-Call terminieren. Auf die Abstimmung und Unterzeichnung des Fördervertrags folgt die Auszahlung der ersten Fördertranche i.H.v. 60% der Gesamtfördersumme. 

Im Rahmen des Kick-off-Calls werden wir eure Meilensteine diskutieren und für das erste halbe Jahr der Förderung verabschieden; ein geteiltes Erwartungsbild an die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit erarbeiten; Herausforderungen und Bedarfe besprechen und Fristen abstimmen.

Was steht im Fördervertrag?

Der Fördervertrag wird u.A. die Förderbestimmungen, die Fördersumme und -tranchen definieren, die Anforderungen an die Förderberichte sowie die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Namensnennung.

Was sind die Erwartungen an den Umfang und die Frequenz für die Förderberichte?

Wir sehen einen kurzen schriftlichen Zwischenbericht (ca. 2-3 Seiten) nach der Hälfte der Förderzeit und einen schriftlichen Abschlussbericht (ca. 3-5 Seiten) nach Ende der Förderzeit vor. Zusammen mit den Berichten sind zudem Zwischen- bzw. Abschlussrechnungen über die Verwendung der Förderung und die entsprechenden Beleglisten einzureichen. 

Für den gesamten Förderzeitraum sind mindestens fünf Check-In-Gespräche vorgesehen:

  • Kick-off-Call
  • Check-In Nr. 1 nach ca. 6 Monaten
  • Halbzeitgespräch & Zwischenbericht (Check-In Nr. 2) nach ca. 12 Monaten
  • Check-In Nr. 3 nach ca. 18 Monaten
  • Abschlussgespräch & -bericht (Check-In Nr. 4) nach ca. 24 Monaten 

Wesentlicher Gegenstand der Check-In-Gespräche ist der Umsetzungsstand der vereinbarten Meilensteine und die damit verbundenen Learnings sowie die Festlegung und Anpassung der Meilensteine für die folgenden sechs Monate, aber auch das Finanzreporting auf Grundlage der ursprünglichen Planung.

Unsere Frage taucht hier nicht auf. Was sollen wir tun?

Wendet euch gern per E-Mail an funding@mediaforwardfund.org